Skip To Main Content

Six Student-Athletes and Two Coaches Named to Boston Globe's Fall All-Scholastic List

Six Student-Athletes and Two Coaches Named to Boston Globe's Fall All-Scholastic List

It was a banner fall season for St. John's Prep as the Eagles earned two MIAA Division I State Championships in soccer and football, respectively, and a 2022 Northern New England Mountain Biking Team Championship for the mountain biking team. With the fall season now concluded, the Boston Globe recently released its annual Fall All-Scholastic lists. St. John's Prep is represented across four sports with six student-athletes earning All-Scholastic recognition, including two athletes of the year in Yianni Andrikopoulos '23 (soccer) and Joenel Aguero '23 (football). Head coaches Dave Crowell (soccer) and Brian St. Pierre '98 (football) were named Division I Coaches of the Year in their respective sports. 

Coach Crowell, who is an Eastern Massachusetts Hall of Fame coach, captured his second Division I state title at the Prep this fall after leading the Eagles to an undefeated season and the program's first state title since 2006. During the season, Crowell recorded his 400th career win.

For Coach St. Pierre, it was his fourth state championship (one as a student-athlete, 1997; three as head coach, 2018, 2019, 2022), joining rarified air as one of only two North Shore football coaches to take take three teams to the Super Bowl and win each time. He joined legendary coach Jack Welch of Ipswich. He owns a 71-28 career record.

The Boston Globe All-Scholastics

Cross Country

All-Scholastic: Nathan Lopez '23
Honorable Mention: Paul Lovett '23
Catholic Conference All-Stars: Finn Bonner '23, Nathan Lopez '23, Paul Lovett '23, Will Pechinsky '24, Felix Rogovin '23, James Trigilio '23


Athlete of the Year: Joenel Aguero '23
Coach of the Year: Brian St. Pierre '98
All-Scholastic: Jesse Ofurie '23
Honorable Mention: Marquese Avery '24, Carson Browne '23, Mason McSweeney '24
Catholic Conference All-Stars: Joenel Aguero '23, Marquese Avery '24, Carson Browne '23, Mason McSweeney '24, Mikey Nabbout '23, Jesse Ofurie '23, Santi Quiceno '23.


All-Scholastic: Terry Manning '24
Catholic Conference All-Stars: Terry Manning '24, Ian Rourke '23

Boys' Soccer

Athlete of the Year: Yianni Andrikopoulos '23*
Coach of the Year: Dave Crowell
All-Scholastic: Callum Rigby '23**
Honorable Mention: Will Minor '23
Catholic Conference All-Stars: Yianni Andrikopoulos '23 (MVP), Alex Borkland '23, Will Minor '23, Chance Prouty '24, Callum Rigby '23, Jake Vana '24.

*All-New England selection
**All-State selection