Skip To Main Content

Class of 2027 Celebrated at Year End Awards Convocation

Class of 2027 Celebrated at Year End Awards Convocation

During the Freshmen Awards Convocation held on Tuesday, May 21, St. John's honored members of the Class of 2027 for outstanding achievement in leadership, academics, co-curricular activities, and athletics. Congratulations to all! 

View Freshman Convocation Photos on SmugMug

Brother Linus Scholarship Award

Presented to Peter Manning: The 2018 Brother Linus, C.F.X. Scholarship Award is presented to a freshman, who in the eyes of his teachers, is an outstanding individual and student who, in his first year, has displayed a model of academic achievement and involvement in school activities. The award, now in its 38th year, is given in memory of Brother Linus, C.F.X., a St. John’s religious studies teacher, counselor, golf coach, hockey coach and freshman football coach until his death in 1977.

Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award

Presented to Thomas Ayers: The Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Awards honors two Xaverian Brothers who were responsible for the legacy of Xaverian education in the United States. As the young congregation faced challenges, the General Superior was forced to call the first Brothers back to Europe. Brother Stephen and Brother Francis remained behind and persevered in their ministry to serve the Church in Louisville. They inspired others through their leadership and commitment to life of faith, service and education. Soon other men joined the Congregation and the work of Stephen and Francis. Through the establishment of this award, the St. John’s community honors one student in each grade who follows the example of Brothers Stephen and Francis through his zeal, compassion, humility, trust, and simplicity as he commits himself to excellence and falling in love with the service of God in the midst of the Prep community.

Steve W. Bekel '12 Scholarship Award

Presented to Damian Gregory: This award is named in memory of Steven Bekel, a member of the Class of 2012. Steven and his father William died tragically in an automobile accident in May 2009. The Bekel family’s loss was shared by their many friends in the Danvers and St. John’s Prep Community. The Class of 2012, then just freshmen, bonded together and have kept their lost classmate in their memory with a series of ongoing events and fundraisers. This scholarship is presented annually to a rising sophomore from Danvers who is an accomplished student and who is also involved in the extracurricular life of the school. St. John’s was honored to have Steven’s mother, Nancy Bekel, his uncle, Jim Sears ’81, present the award.

Campus Ministry Award

Presented to Jonathan Koulalis: The Campus Service Ministry Award is presented to a member of the class who has consistently and authentically participated in Campus Ministry events throughout their time at the Prep and who embodies the mission of Campus Ministry and St. John's by engaging with the community and demonstrating what it means to be a person of faith and action.

Academic Awards

Academic Excellence

Thomas Ayers
Cormac Barry
Andrew Blanchette
William De Rochemont
Zachary Evitts
Subhang Konduri
Petar Kuljic
Duncan McClintock
Timothy McColgan
Arihant Rangoli
Benjamin Reynolds
Matthew Spidle
Harry Zhou

Religious Studies Medals

Vincent Carusi
Cole Hannan
James Riley
William Forsyth
Ryan McCarthy
Nick Ramos

English Medals

Miles Heffernan
Daniel Monterroso
Jakob Perkins
Aidan Sullivan
T. J. Ballantine
Peter Manning

Mathematics Medals

Cole Anderson
Tyson Stroope
Nicholas Abruzzese
Jacob Matias
Daniel Monterroso
James Riley

Science Medals

William Kennedy
Massimo Petrillo
William Goff
Jayden Toppin
Brayden Umberger
Miles Heffernan

Social Studies Medals

Nicholas Grimaldi
Joseph Kubicki
Robert Feudo III
Joseph O'Neil
Christopher Olimpio
Corson Quinn

Computer Science Medals

Garrett Dawe
Liam Eckler
Brody McMahon
Tyson Stroope

Physical Education Medals

Jake Arsenault
Michael Enes
Avery Paul
William Kennedy

Chinese Medals

Bryan Henroid
Joseph Moscoffian
Vincent Carusi

German Medals

Justin Brown
Ayden Ventura
Jakob Perkins

Latin Medals

Cole Anderson
Massimo Petrillo
Joseph Kubicki

Spanish Medals

Logan Arredondo
Liam O'Connor
Lucas Zepf
Aidan Sullivan

Hispanohablante Sobresaliente Award

Alexander Ovalles

Art 2-D Medals

Nicholas Grimaldi
Cole Hannan

Art 3-D Medals

Luke Bray
Devlin Murphy

Drama Medals

Henry McDonnell
Peter Napolitano

Music Medals

Anthony Smith
Michael Fix

Co-Curricular Awards

Animal Welfare Club: Edward Waldman
Anime Club: Jarrod Wallace
Celtic Band: Duncan McClintock
Civics Debate Club: Massimo Petrillo
Drama Guild: Liam Eckler
Drama Guild: Sebastian Ghiu
Eagle News: Thomas Ayers
Eagle News: Andrew Blanchette
Environmental Club: Christopher Melville
Environmental Club: Ayden Ventura
German Club: Benjamin Reynolds
Greek & Latin Club: Jacob Matias
History Club: Quinn Fox
HS Investment Club: William Hodgkinson
Latinos Unidos en Acción (LUNA): Ayden Ventura
Math Team: Shahaan Zaheer
Mock Trial: Liam O'Connor
Model UN: Aadan DeLeon Job
Philosophy Club: Avery Paul
South Asian Culture Club: Arihant Rangoli
Spanish Club: Colin Gray
Zoology Club: John Burke

Athletics Awards

Freshman Baseball Coach's Award: Brendan Kobierski
Freshman Basketball Coach's Award: Dominik Mercier
Freshman Crew Coach's Award: James Riley
Freshman Cross Country Coach's Award: Mateo DeOrio
Freshman Mountain Biking Coach's Award: Garrett MacNeil
Freshman Fencing Coach's Award: Bennecio Brincheiro
Freshman Football Coach's Award: Connor Quigley
Freshman Golf Coach's Award: Seamus O'Holleran
Freshman Ice Hockey Coach's Award: Sefton Paradis
Freshman Lacrosse Coach's Award: Brody McMahon
Freshman Rugby Coach's Award: Logan Arredondo
Freshman Sailing Coach's Award: Davis Ferreira
Freshman Skiing Coach's Award: Andrew Pellegrini
Freshman Soccer Coach's Award: Elian Calderon
Freshman Spring Track Coach's Award: Kai Danoff
Freshman Swimming Coach's Award: William Forsyth
Freshman Tennis Coach's Award: Christopher Melville
Freshman Ultimate Disc Coach's Award: Jackson Scoll
Freshman Volleyball Coach's Award: Arihant Rangoli
Freshman Water Polo Coach's Award: Giovanni Rodriguez
Freshman Winter Track Coach's Award: Dayvian Sullivan
Freshman Wrestling Coach's Award: William LaVallee