Skip To Main Content

Class of 2026 Recognized at Sophomore Awards Convocation

Class of 2026 Recognized at Sophomore Awards Convocation

Congratulations on the good work! During the Sophomore Awards Convocation, held on Wednesday, May 22, St. John's honored members of the Class of 2026 for outstanding achievement in leadership, academics, co-curricular activities, and athletics.

Junior Awards Convocation Photo Gallery

J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship Award

Sawyer Cheverie received the J. Peter Frates III '03 scholarship, which was established in 2013 through the generosity of Prep alumni and parents who wanted to recognize Pete's contributions to St. John's and to the greater community. Pete serves as an inspiration to many, raising awareness about ALS. The J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship provides an annual award to a sophomore who models Peter's passion and enthusiasm for the Prep, has an incredible work ethic, is supportive of his peers, is a leader, and someone who encourages all to be their best. We are fortunate that Pete's father, John '76, and mother, Nancy, were here to present the award.

Fr. Tony Penna Scholarship Award

Christian Norena recevied the Fr. Tony Penna Award. The Fr. Tony Penna Award—awarded today for the first time— honors a special teacher, mentor, and 2022 Prep Hall of Honor inductee. Fr. Tony Penna arrived at St. John’s Prep in 1978, shortly after being ordained a priest, to join the campus ministry staff. His lasting impact on the school is immeasurable. Staff and alumni alike speak to Fr. Tony’s thoughtful, relatable message of the Gospel and his ability to make folks feel like they are the most important person in the room. In his time at the Prep, Fr. Tony always made himself available to others without asking for anything in return. The Penna Fund provides tuition assistance to a qualified St. John's Prep Sophomore who demonstrates Fr. Tony's spirit of gratitude, sincerity, and authenticity in his everyday life.

Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award

Andrew McManmon received the Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award. This award honors two Xaverian Brothers who were responsible for the legacy of Xaverian education in the United States. As the young congregation faced challenges, the General Superior was forced to call the first Brothers back to Europe. Brother Stephen and Brother Francis remained behind and persevered in their ministry to serve the Church in Louisville. They inspired others through their leadership and commitment to life of faith, service and education. Soon other men joined the Congregation and the work of Stephen and Francis. Through the establishment of this award, the St. John’s community honors one student in each grade who follows the example of Brothers Stephen and Francis through his zeal, compassion, humility, trust and simplicity as he commits himself to excellence and falling in love with the service of God in the midst of the Prep community. 

Campus Ministry Award   

Andrew Leedham received the Campus Service Ministry Award. It is presented to a member of the class who has consistently and authentically participated in Campus Ministry events throughout their time at the Prep and who embodies the mission of Campus Ministry and St. John's by engaging with the community and demonstrating what it means to be a person of faith and action. 

Academic Awards
Academic Excellence

Zachary Bezanson
William Bochnak
Julian Tavarez
Edward Acworth
Jacob Cranson
Leo Emerson
Jonah Greenblatt
Noah Lear
Andrew Leedham
Benjamin Shore
Christopher Sorrenti
Nicholas Sorrenti
Maddox Speciale
Ethan Waszkelewicz
Ryan Yu

Religious Studies Medals

Mason Beaudoin
Andrew Budrow
Ahmir Hykel
Joshua Isidro
Andrew McManmon
Alexander Sideridis

English Medals

John Budrow
Lukas Cleary
Luke Horenstein
Rowan King
Walter Malin
Benjamin Masterson

Mathematics Medals

Carter Hoekstra
Cooper Hosmer
Thomas Randall
Wesley Ross
Gavin Strongosky
Cameron Taylor

Science Medals

John Budrow
John Cahill
Ryan Graham
Jeff Hobgood
Ryan MacKeen
Ethan Stefanovich

Social Studies Medals

Christopher Angelakis
Jackson Camp
Breccan Curran
Wade Evitts
Omar Habbouche
Isaac Sidmore

Computer Science Medals

Michael Dorsey
Gabriel Ivanovna
Matthew Lannan
Philip Maestranzi

Chinese Medals

Patrick Kaminski
Benjamin Masterson
Brendan McCarthy

German Medals

Jakob Blanchette
Kian DeAngelus
Bohan Minogue

Latin Medals

Mason Beaudoin
John Kaloutas
Finn McCabe

Spanish Medals

Joseph Eberhart
John Galvin
David Maloney
Matthew Nazzaro

Hispanohablante Sobresaliente Award

Christian Norena

Art 2-D Medals

William Crawford
Ryan Ofilos

Art 3-D Medals

Tyler Burke
Nicholas Samra

Drama Medals

Jakob Blanchette
Wade W. Evitts

Music Medals

Christopher Angelakis
Isaac Sidmore

Co-Curricular Awards

Aviation Club: Michael Dorsey
Aviation Club: Luke Mailhot
Ceramics Club: James Minor
Civics Debate Club: Matthew Polito
Drama Guild: Brendan Lovell
Drama Guild: Ming Pineiro
Environmental Club: Edward Acworth
German Club: Kian DeAngelus
Greek & Latin Club: Thomas Wakelin
High School String Ensemble: Nicholas Vogel
History Club: Jeremiah McCarthy
High School Investment Club: Cameron Taylor
Jewish Student Union: Jacob Cranson
Liturgical Music Ministry: Michael Dorsey
Math Team: Samuel Beebee
Mock Trial: Wade Evitts
Music Tech Club: Samuel Kelly
Music Tech Club: Ming Pineiro
Outdoor Adventure Club: Gavin Strongosky
Philosophy Club: Matthew Langton
Photography Club: Gavin White
Spanish Club: Lukas Cleary
Spire Brass: William Bochnak
Yearbook Club: Christopher Angelakis

Athletic Awards

Varsity Sailing MVP: Jack Morgan
Varsity Tennis MVP: John DeAngelis

Baseball Coach's Award: Joseph Bonavita
Basketball Coach's Award: Tristan McDaniels
Crew Coach's Award: William Clark
Cross Country Coach's Award: Liam Mahoney
Fencing Coach's Award: Nicholas Samra
Football Coach's Award: Pierson Scala
Golf Coach's Award: Jack Carew
Ice Hockey Coach's Award: Luke Horenstein
Lacrosse Coach's Award: Samuel Pruell
Mountain Biking Coach's Award: Edward Acworth
Rugby Coach's Award: Jordan Colon
Sailing Coach's Award: Jeremiah McCarthy
Skiing Coach's Award: Owen McLain
Soccer Coach's Award: Ryan Levis
Spring Track & Field: Andrew McManmon
Swimming & Diving Coach's Award: Wesley Ross
Tennis Coach's Award: Benjamin Shore
Ultimate Disc Coach's Award: Evan Foley
Volleyball Coach's Award: Matthew Nazzaro
Water Polo Coach's Award: Carson Sullivan
Winter & Field Track Coach's Award: Ahmir Hykel
Wrestling Coach's Award: James Lally