Skip To Main Content

Class of 2024 Recognized at Sophomore Awards Convocation

Congratulations on the good work! During the Sophomore Awards Convocation, held on Wednesday, May 25, St. John's honored members of the Class of 2024 for outstanding achievement in leadership, academics, co-curricular activities, and athletics. Kudos to all! More photos are available on SmugMug.

J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship Award

Alejandro Baez Tejeda received the J. Peter Frates III '03 scholarship, which was established in 2013 through the generosity of Prep alumni and parents who wanted to recognize Pete's contributions to St. John's and to the greater community. Pete serves as an inspiration to many, raising awareness about ALS. The J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship provides an annual award to a sophomore who models Peter's passion and enthusiasm for the Prep, has an incredible work ethic, is supportive of his peers, is a leader, and someone who encourages all to be their best. We are fortunate that Pete's father, John '76, and mother, Nancy, were here to present the award.

Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award

William Guggenberger received the Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award. This award honors two Xaverian Brothers who were responsible for the legacy of Xaverian education in the United States. As the young congregation faced challenges, the General Superior was forced to call the first Brothers back to Europe. Brother Stephen and Brother Francis remained behind and persevered in their ministry to serve the Church in Louisville. They inspired others through their leadership and commitment to life of faith, service and education. Soon other men joined the Congregation and the work of Stephen and Francis. Through the establishment of this award, the St. John’s community honors one student in each grade who follows the example of Brothers Stephen and Francis through his zeal, compassion, humility, trust and simplicity as he commits himself to excellence and falling in love with the service of God in the midst of the Prep community. 

Campus Ministry Award   

William Vittiglio received the Campus Service Ministry Award. It is presented to a member of the class who has consistently and authentically participated in Campus Ministry events throughout their time at the Prep and who embodies the mission of Campus Ministry and St. John's by engaging with the community and demonstrating what it means to be a person of faith and action. 

Academic Awards
Academic Excellence

Elliott Adams
Daniel Baumfeld
Innes Boesch
George Dauphin
Joseph Ellard
James Fanikos
Chase Fruehauf
Mark Ghiu
Yanni Haginicolas
Christian Kaminski
David Kane
Alexander Melville
Aidan Miller
Shane Rose
Christopher Shea
Lucas Weisman

Religious Studies Medals

Ryan DeSouza
Ryan Murphy
Christian Rosa
Andrew Ruocco
Noah Sennott
Charlie Westwood

English Medals

Thomas Desmond
Joseph Gannon
Braden Hughes
James Maestranzi
Davian Romero
William Vittiglio

Mathematics Medals

Sean Drzewiczewski
Benjamin Krysiak
Cole Morrison
Everest Tilkens
William Vittiglio
Samuel Wolke

Science Medals

Luc Bannerman
Raoul Foster
Quinn Gregoire
Braden Hughes
Luke Maltacea
Ryan Murphy

Social Studies Medals

Matthew Callahan
Hou Jun Ji
John Lockner
David Nerden
Andrew Ruocco
Maxwell Therrien

Computer Science Medals

Arthur Audet
Tory Fasciano
William Kuhl
Matthew Montoya-Figueroa

Chinese Medals

Harry Block
James Callahan
Jonathan Pasterczyk

German Medals

Nicholas Blanchette
Mason Lomasney
Andrew Ruocco

Latin Medals

Brandon Falzone
James MacLean
James Maestranzi

Spanish Medals

Graham Kramer
Oliver Rosselli
Maxwell Therrien
Charlie Westwood

Hispanohablante Sobresaliente Award

Alejandro Baez Tejeda

Art 2-D Medals

Yisong Jiang
Luke Rinklin

Art 3-D Medals

Alex Bernstein
Ryan Johnston

Drama Medals

Alejandro Baez Tejeda
Colin Mellen

Music Medals

Joseph Isidro
Zachary Saporito

Boston Globe Scholastic Art & Writing Awards
Globe Certificate of Recognition Scholastic Art Award

Yisong Jiang

Co-Curricular Awards

Academic Bowl Award: James Maestranzi
Always Our Brothers and Sisters Award: Griffin McGahan
Animal Welfare Club Award: David Nerden
Anime Award: Ethan Rule
Art and Design Award: Yisong Jiang
Best Buddies Award: Sean Drzewiczewski
Chess Club: Alejandro Baez Tejeda
Chinese Ambassador's Club: Hou Jun Ji
Crypto Club: Victor Mejias
Drama Guild - Acting: Benjamin McGee
Drama Guild Technical Award: Arthur Audet
Environmental Club Award: Alexander Melville
Freshmen Life Experience Award: Tirenioluwa Asenuga
Future Medical Professionals Club: Christian von Jako
German Club Award: Casey Griffin, Andrew Ruocco
Greek & Latin Club Award: Luke Aengenheyster
History Club Award: Caiden Knox
Investment Club Award: Alex Abou-Ezzi, Zachary Saporito
Jewish Student Union Award: Jason Orfaly
LUNA (Latinos Unidos en Accion) Award: Gabriel Hidalgo
Magic Club: John Rice
Mock Trial Award: Alejandro Baez Tejeda
Model UN Award: Matthew Montoya-Figueroa
Outdoor Adventure Club: Daniel Curran
Pax Christi Award: William Vittiglio
PC Builders Club Award: Richard Case, Willem Hofeldt
Photography Club Award: Charlie Westwood
Rock Music Appreciation Club: Nathaniel Leonard
Science-Technology Club: Luke Aengenheyster
Spire Brass Award: Casey Griffin
Spire Yearbook Award: William Vittiglio
Swingtown Award: Benjamin McGee
Vex Robotics Team: Cameron Hastings
Woodwinds Ensemble Award: Joseph Isidro
Young Democrats Club Award: Innes Boesch
Young Republicans Club Award: Andrew Ruocco

Athletic Awards

Varsity Mountain Biking MVP: Henry Coote

Alpine Skiing Coach's Award: Henry Coote
Baseball Coach's Award: Jack Growney
Basketball Coach's Award: Quinn Gregoire
Crew Coach's Award: Cameron Busa
Cross Country Coach's Award: William Pechinsky
Fencing Coach's Award: Benjamin Foley
Football Coach's Award: Mason McSweeney
Golf Coach's Award: Terrence Manning
Ice Hockey Coach's Award: Hunter Steiner
Lacrosse Coach's Award: Caiden Knox
Mountain Biking Coach's Award: Luc Bannerman
Rugby Coach's Award: Andrew Heffernan
Sailing Coach's Award: David Nerden
Soccer Coach's Award: Nicholas MacDonald
Spring Track & Field Coach's Award: Aithan Bezanson
Swimming & Diving Coach's Award: Flynn McDonnell
Tennis Coach's Award: John Aiken
Ultimate Disc Coach's Award: Ryan Murphy
Volleyball Coach's Award: Benjamin Krysiak
Water Polo Coach's Award: Jake Powers
Winter Track & Field Coach's Award: Dylan Aliberti
Wrestling Coach's Award: Dylan Greenstein