Skip To Main Content

13 Students Honored in National Merit Scholarship Program

13 Students Honored in National Merit Scholarship Program

L to r: Samuel Wolke, Mark Ghiu, Tighe Lusk, Christian Kaminski, James Fanikos, Daniel Baumfeld, David Kane, Nicholas Griffin, Luke Agengenheyster, Chase Fruehauf, and Joseph Ellard

St. John's Prep is pleased to share this year 11 members of the Class of 2024 were honored as Commended Students in the National Merit Scholarship Program and two members were honored as Semifinalists.

Luke Aengenheyster, Daniel Baumfeld, Joseph Ellard, James Fanikos, Chase Fruehauf, Mark Ghiu, Nicholas Griffin, Christian Kaminski, David Kane, Tighe Lusk, and Samuel Wolke received the distinction of Commended Student, while Elliot Adams and Innes Boesch were honored as Semifinalists. 

L to r: Head of School Dr. Ed Hardiman P'19 '21 '26, Elliott Adams, Innes Boesch, and Principal / Associate Head of School Dr. Keith Crowley

The National Merit Scholarship program is a nationwide competition for recognition and awards conducted by National Merit Scholarship Corporation. By taking the PSAT in October of 2023, students are automatically entered for consideration. Just a small fraction of high school students—some 34,000—across the country are awarded the distinction of Commended Student, while only about 16,000 are awarded Semifinalist. Semifinalists are eligible to continue in the competition, with the chance to receive scholarships to use towards higher education. 

St. John's is so proud of these 13 Eagles and all they've accomplished in their academic careers thus far!