SSL Certificate
Sophomores Soar at Awards Convocation!
Posted 06/04/2020 10:13AM

Congratulations on the good work! During the Sophomore Awards Convocation on Wednesday, June 3, St. John's honored members of the Class of 2022 for outstanding achievement in leadership, academics, co-curricular activities, and athletics. Kudos to all!

J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship Award

Ethan Peralta received the J. Peter Frates III '03 scholarship, which was established in 2013 through the generosity of Prep alumni and parents who wanted to recognize Pete's contributions to St. John's and to the greater community. Pete serves as an inspiration to many, raising awareness about ALS while continuing to fight the disease himself. The J. Peter Frates III '03 Scholarship provides an annual award to a sophomore who models Peter's passion and enthusiasm for the Prep, has an incredible work ethic, is supportive of his peers, is a leader and someone who encourages all to be their best. We are fortunate that Pete's father, John '76 was here to present the award.

Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award

Conor Beswick received the Brother Stephen and Brother Francis Award. This award honors two Xaverian Brothers who were responsible for the legacy of Xaverian education in the United States. As the young congregation faced challenges, the General Superior was forced to call the first Brothers back to Europe. Brother Stephen and Brother Francis remained behind and persevered in their ministry to serve the Church in Louisville. They inspired others through their leadership and commitment to life of faith, service and education. Soon other men joined the Congregation and the work of Stephen and Francis. Through the establishment of this award, the St. John’s community honors one student in each grade who follows the example of Brothers Stephen and Francis through his zeal, compassion, humility, trust and simplicity as he commits himself to excellence and falling in love with the service of God in the midst of the Prep community. 

Campus Ministry Award   

Tyler Rockett received the Campus Service Ministry Award. It is presented to a member of the class who has consistently and authentically participated in Campus Ministry events throughout their time at the Prep and who embodies the mission of Campus Ministry and St. John's by engaging with the community and demonstrating what it means to be a person of faith and action. 

Academic Awards
Overall Academic Excellence Awards

Sean Buckner
Colby Crews
Cameron Eich
Declan Golden
Nam Ho
Declan Kelley
Charles Kirby
Rocco Masciarelli
Grady McDonough
Ansh Motiani
Zachary Nassar
Declan O'Callaghan
Connor Perault
Emmet Phelan
Gar Rudnyai

Religious Studies Medal

Robert Coutu
Dante D'Alessandro
Michael Daley
Brendan Feyl
Carmen Ilardi
Charles Maier

English Medal

Christian Abou Ezzi
Griffin Callanan
Theodore Cullinane
Matthew DiCara
Joseph Giardella
Django Keyes

Mathematics Medal

Theodore Cullinane
Peyton McKee
Liam Melvin
Nathan Odams
John Valzania
Chengru Zou

Science Medal

Kyle Desrochers
James Pavilon
Connor Remley
Christian Rooney
Robert Shea
Charles Wilmot


Social Studies Medal

Robert Danforth
Marioabel Hernandez
Tucker Larson
Nicholas Lopez
Nathan Odams
Daniel Panzavecchia

Computer Science Medal

John Matthews
Peyton McKee
Nicholas Randazza-OBrien
Yuan Yu

Chinese Medal 

Michael Daley
Erik Soderlund
Charles Wilmot

German Medal

Caleb Marsters
Peyton McKee
David Terranova

Latin Medal

Timothy Haarmann
Brian Manning
Charles McLellan

Spanish Medal

Beau Colvin
Owen Gandt
Tyler Hughes
John Laffy

Hispanohablante Sobresaliente Award

Ethan Peralta

Art 2-D Medal

Michael Boudrot
Richard Viveiros

Art 3-D Medal

Brendan Feyl
Maxwell Perault

Drama Medal

Dylan Roberts
John Valentino

Music Medal

Marc Gaudin
Christopher Maguire

Co-Curricular Awards
Academic Bowl Award

Connor Gold

Best Buddies Club Award

Hunter Jones

Celtic Club Award

Raymond Currie

Chinese Ambassador's Club Award

Jingyuan Zhang

Comic Book Club Award 

James Aste

Drama Guild: Acting 

Thomas Bachand

Drama Guild: Technical Award

Nicholas Hastings

Environmental Club Award

Bryan Wolf

E-Sports Team Club Award

Ryan Yuu

Future Entrepreneurs Award

Hunter Jones

Game Design Club Award

Robert Shea

Greek & Latin Club Award

Nolan Chanda
Richard Viveiros
Tucker Murphy

Improv Club Award

James Aste

Jewish Student Union Award

Bryan Wolf

Magic Club Award

Junhui Huang

Math Team Award

Colby Crews

Model UN Award

Connor Gold

Outdoor Adventure Club Award

David Terranova

Photography Club Award

Ethan Peralta

Powerlifting Club Award

Jon Burchette

Prep Pride Club Award

Alexander Grondin
Vincent Callahan

Science Fiction and Fantasy Club Award

Declan O'Callaghan

Science Technology Club Award

Brendan O'Holleran

Spanish Club Award

Marioabel Hernandez

Spire Brass Award

Marc Gaudin

Spire Yearbook Award

Ethan Peralta

Student Council Award

Joseph Waterman

The Maker Club Award

Robert Shea

Woodwinds Ensemble Award

Robert Shea

Young Democrats Club Award

Conor Beswick

Young Republicans Club Award

John Valzania

Athletics Awards
Alpine Skiing Coach's Award

Timothy Haarmann 

Basketball Coach's Award

Jack Perry 

Crew Coach's Award

Alex Flynn 

Cross Country Coach's Award

Colin Scarpola

Fencing Coach's Award

Colby Crews

Football Coach's Award

James Guy

Golf Coach's Award

Alex Landry

Hockey Coach's Award

Thomas Sarni

Mountain Biking Coach's Award

William Stapleton

Soccer Coach's Award

James Gikas

Swimming Coach's Award

William Randall

Water Polo Coach's Award

Samuel Westlund

Winter Track Coach's Award

Tyee Ambrosh

Wrestling Coach's Award

Matthew Mitchell

Varsity Mountain Biking MVP

Owen Gandt

Varsity Wrestling MVP

Adam Schaeublin

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite