SSL Certificate
The Light of Wisdom, Character, Leadership and Service
Posted 11/12/2019 04:51PM

National Honor SocietySince 1921, the National Honor Society has recognized high school students in every state for scholarship, leadership, character, and service. On November 6, 2019, St. John's proudly inducted 172 students into the Brother Benjamin chapter of the NHS. The induction ceremony features several signature traditions, among them the lighting of four candles that represent the qualities of scholarship, leadership, character, and service. More photos on SmugMug.

Lighting the four candles at this year’s ceremony were the National Honor Society officers: Philip Ricciardelli ’20, president; Andrew Ge ’20, vice president; Owen Gaffney ’20, secretary; and Kyle Surdam ’20, treasurer.

Headmaster Hardiman congratulated the new inductees on their hard work and achievement, sharing two stories from his time in Duran, Ecuador as a lay missionary and urging the inductees to think of the needs of others and to direct their gifts and talents toward the service of others. “Tonight’s induction is not about honoring and setting you apart from others. Rather, it’s about calling you to further action, and to use your gifts and talents to build others up. Metaphorically, tonight is an invitation to [as we did in Duran] help your neighbor build their concrete home … (or) to secure a government grant to build a soup kitchen.”

To qualify for NHS membership, students must demonstrate academic achievement, leadership, character, and a commitment to community service. Specifically, students must earn a minimum 3.5 cumulative grade point average, contribute at least 30 hours of community service in the prior year, and demonstrate leadership and involvement in the life of the school. The Brother Benjamin chapter at St. John’s is named for the Prep’s founding headmaster, who served from 1910 to 1917.

Once students become society members, they are expected to continue to share their talents and give back to St. John's by serving as tutors to their peers, acting as tour guides for open house events, and performing a variety of other services for the school community.

“This is an important night and a night that you should savor when you reflect on different accomplishments in your life’s journey,” said Dr. Hardiman. “Each of you has taken a different path to arrive at your seat this evening. Tonight, the spotlight is on you. But tomorrow, you are called to put the spotlight on others as you more deeply live the vocation of servant leader through your words and actions.

We are proud of your accomplishments!

Class of 2020
Bradley Abel
Ethan Ambrosh
Yohaan Batlivala
Augustus Baylow
Sean Bellamy
John Cairns
Christopher Callahan
Michael Cammarata
Ethan Chenard
Robert Clark
Jack Custer
Evan DiPietro
Michael Donabedian
Chase Drinkwater
Ryan Evers
Thomas Fagan
Gustavo Farias
Michael Fionda
Justin Forcione
Robert Forti
Peter Gause
Colin Genta
Declan Gregg
Drew Gross
Oliver Hermann
Daniel Hornby
Steven Jackson
Jared Jenkins
Tyler Joe
Garrison Jorge
Thomas Keane
William Kennedy
Ethan Kittell
Michael Kobrosky
Alexander Kohler
Devon Kolbert
Edward Kusel
Adam Lepore
Rui Li
Zekai Lin
Samuel Lockhart
Duncan MacLellan
Edward Malolepszy
Nathan Marconi
Nicholas Masterson
Maxwell McAuliffe
Kyle McCabe
Peter McDowell
Cameron McKenna
Gabriel Najim
Matthew Nickerson
Timothy Perry
Jackson Ranger
Matthew Remley
Malcolm Renney
Andrew Rose
Alec Runnals
Caelan Sawyer
Robert Schneiders
Noah Schott
Alexander Scopa
Eric Serra
Alexander Smith
Matthew Stewart
Peyton Sullivan
Shilong Tan
Christopher Victorin
Davis Walker
Chenyang Wang
Kyle Westfall
Thomas White
Richard Williams
On Tung Wong
Franklin Xu
Evan Ypsilantis
Haifeng Zhang

Class of 2021
Nolan Adam
Dallon Archibald
Sawyer Barnard
William Boemer
Brett Butler
Hayden Byrne
Piero Campos
Vincent Candela
Andrew Coady
Aidan Conway
Charles Danis
Chase Davis
Nicholas de Melo
Nicholas DeMarco
Jackson DeSanto
Liam Dickson
Christopher Dirks
Daniel Dischino
John Dubow
Garrett Dunn
Luke Emilius
Jaret Farhat
Andrew Fietze
Andrew Fitzgerald
Henry Fuller
Jacob Garland
Gavin George
Joseph Gizmunt
Rishabh Gokarn
Sourabh Gokarn
Shane Haggerty
Matthew Hardiman
Sean Heffernan
Willem Hendriks
Christopher Holden
James Horkan
Neil Isaac
Harrison Jenkins
Benjamin Jones
Peter Kane
Jacob Katz
Calvin Keating
Andrew Keenan
Aaron Kelly
Michael Kelly
John Kiely
Stanley Klopotoski
Renato Korzinek
Steven Lafferty
Cameron LaPierre
Thomas Ligh
Colin Linehan
Alexander Litchfield
Collin Lorenzen
Michael Maddison
Luke Magnuson
Casey Maguire
Eugene Mantilla
Erik Martin
Peter Martin
Thomas Martinuk
Zachary McKenelley
Charles Meurer
Alfonso Morell
Aidan Mueller
Brendan O'Friel
Maxwell Olson
Andrew Orfaly
Lucas Pastore
Xiaohan Peng
Quinn Perkins
Christopher Pietrini
Michael Pietrini
Daniel Reinbold
Steve Rosario
Michael Ruffini
Christopher Safi
Aaron Saporito
Cameron Savory
Samuel Scherkenbach
Emmett Schillinger
Adam Sienkiewicz
Brett Smith
Jack Sullivan
Mark Tannoury
Alden Taylor
Collin Taylor
Yuzhe Tian
Michael Villani
Andrew Vittiglio
Paul Wehle
Ian Weist
Norris Whitlock
Connor Wolf
Thomas Yakita
Jordan Young

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite