SSL Certificate
Eighth Graders Soar!
Posted 06/01/2018 02:06PM
Eighth Grade GraduationSt. John’s Prep celebrated all members of the eighth grade during a joyful year-end ceremony on Thursday, May 31.

Proud parents, grandparents, sisters, brothers, family members and friends filled the Dianne and Ray Carey '67 Field House as each student received a certificate marking the successful conclusion of their eighth grade year – and the first step in their journey to high school! Photos from the celebration on SmugMug.

Headmaster Hardiman reminded the class that they are "You are about to start a new journey. In the spirit of Xavier and tradition of St. John’s and the Brothers, know that we believe in you. We know you will arrive at your destination, we have your back even when you don’t think we are there, and we encourage you to persevere, even when it doesn’t seem like you have any chance of succeeding. I am excited about journeying with you over the next four years and I can’t wait to see what you will achieve and who you will become," Headmaster Edward Hardiman, Ph.D. told the students.

In addition to certificates for every classmate, awards were presented for leadership and exceptional achievement in academic life.

Five students received the Brother Benjamin, C.F.X. Student Leadership Award. Named for the founding Headmaster of St. John’s, the award recognizes students who have demonstrated true servant leadership by sharing their gifts and talents in service to others. The award was presented to: Evan N. Aldrich, Declan T. Golden, Brendan O'Holleran, Connor D. Perault, and Phineas J. Roy.

The Campus Ministry Award was presented to Dominic G. Sarcione. This award recognizes a student for his contributions to the school through his embrace of the spirit of the Campus Ministry program.

The inaugural John Carnevale '81 Scholarship Award was to Braeden Cheverie. This award recognizes a student who models enthusiasm for the Prep community, supports his peers, encourages all to be their best, and has a positive influence in the life of the school.

Religious Studies Awards

Joseph D. Giardella 
Mikhail T. Munick
John F. Valentino

English Awards

Evan N. Aldrich
John P. Calzini
John D. Valzania

Mathematics Awards

Ronan J. Brown
Dante J. D'Alessandro
Ansh Motiani
Charles M. Thibault

Science Awards

Declan T. Kelley
Erik P. Soderlund
William I. Stapleton

Social Studies Awards

Lucas J. Carter
John O. Laffy
Ronald L. Rossetti III

Chinese Awards

Michael S. Daley Jr.
Theodore S. Vetere

German Awards

Charles C. Kirby Jr.
Peyton J. McKee

Latin Awards

Theodore F. Cullinane
Henry V. Sorpol 

Spanish Awards

Jackson G. Delaney
Enrique D. Ruiz

Computer Science Awards

Joshua M. Bemis
Timothy E. Haarmann

Studio Art Awards

Gar R. Rudnyai
Matthew E. Viliott

Drama Awards

Thomas W. Bachand Jr.
Braeden Cheverie

Band Awards

Kyle J. Desrochers
Samuel N. Wehle

Chorus Awards

Alexander D. Grondin
Christopher W. Pocharski

Strings Awards

Declan T. Golden
David M. Terranova

Physical Education Awards

Marioabel Hernandez
Kyle A. Wolff 

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite