Our CampusOften described as looking like a New England college, our 175-acre campus is a vibrant blend of old and new. Wireless Internet, advanced educational resources, a spacious library & technology center, well-equipped labs and classrooms, plus many places to gather combine with the traditional beauty of our landmark buildings to make a collegial learning environment. When you visit St. John's, use this map to explore the campus.
Brother Keefe, C.F.X. Academic Center
Opened in September 2015, the Brother Keefe, C.F.X. Academic Center is designed for collaboration and hands-on learning. Abundant glass and the use of natural materials connects the building to it campus surroundings, including a grotto, which was designed and built by students and faculty.
The five-story, 74,000 square-foot building includes a robotics lab, a fabrication space, 6 science labs, 5 minilabs and 30 classrooms, and the offices of the computer science, mathematics, science and world languages departments. The Kennealy Commons on the the first floor is a spacious area for students to gather informally, as well as for presentations and events.
Originally known as Porphyry Hall, the Administration Building was built in 1880 by Jacob Spring for his family.
The Xaverian Brothers purchased the property in 1891. The chapel was added in 1908, and now the building houses the Office of the Headmaster, the Admission, Alumni, and Advancement offices, as well as the Student Commons.
With its landmark spire, Xavier Hall is traditional on the outside and anything but old-fashioned inside.
Built in 1910-1911 and completely revitalized in 2005, it houses 31 classrooms, the William Drinan, CFX Center for Campus Ministry and the office of the English, religious studies and social studies departments. To celebrate our Centennial in 2008, a timeline and pictorial history of the Prep history was installed in Xavier Hall.
Ryken Center for the Arts
Ryken Center for the Arts is home to our music, theater, and arts programs. On the first level are the DiVincenzo Blackbox Theatre, Studzinski Gallery and a theatre workshop. The second floor is dedicated to music, while the third floor provides art and ceramics studio space. Built in 1916, Ryken was redesigned as an art center in 1995.
Brother Benjamin Hall
Brother Banjamin, CFX Hall was built in 1964 and extensively remodeled when the A. E. Studzinski Library was constructed in 2003.
Beginning in Setember 2015, it became home to the Prep's Middle School for grades 6, 7 and 8. It houses 15 classrooms, three science labs, two art studios and a music room, as well as the Middle School office, a Dining Commons and Digital Commons.
Alumni Hall houses Kaneb Theatre, our 350-seat school auditorium, home to the Prep's award-winning Drama Guild.
It also provides space for concerts and visiting speakers, as well as student, faculty and parents gatherings.
Memorial Dining Hall
Memorial Dining Hall, with its dramatic gothic style, leaded glass windows and vaulted ceilings, adds much to the college campus feeling at St. John's.
Built in 1925, it was recently updated and houses two student dining rooms, where breakfast and lunch are served daily.
A. E. Studzinski Library
The A. E. Studzinski Library houses sophisticated educational computer resources and the Prep's 18,000 volume collection. The spacious 24,000 square foot library provides students with space for individual study and collaborative work, as well as access to unlimited online academic resources. In the Ozzie Technology Center on the first level, there are six state-of-the-art technology classrooms, office space for the Computer Science Department, and the school's Information Technology office. Opened in September 2003, the library is a busy student hub from 7 am to 5:30 pm every day.
Memorial Gymnasium is home base for the Prep's 20 athletic teams and the wellness and intramurals program.
The Prep's meticulously maintained athletic facilities also include Cronin Memorial Stadium, Gibbons Memorial Field, three additional playing fields, and five tennis courts.