Often described as looking like a New England college, our 175-acre campus is a vibrant blend of old and new. Wireless Internet, advanced technology resources, a spacious new library, well-equipped science labs and updated classrooms combine with the traditional beauty of our landmark buildings to make a collegial learning environment. When you visit St. John's, use this map to explore the campus
Originally known as Porphyry Hall, the Administration Building was built in 1880 by Jacob Spring for his family. The Xaverian Brothers purchased the property in 1891. In 1908, the chapel was added and now the building houses the Office of the Headmaster, the Alumni Office, and the Student Commons.
With its landmark spire, Xavier Hall is traditional on the outside and anything but old-fashioned inside. Built in 1910-1911 and completely revitalized in 2005, it houses 31 SmartBoard equipped classrooms, a vibrant Campus Ministry center, academic department office suites and meeting space. To celebrate our Centennial in 2008, a museum of Prep history was installed in Xavier Hall.
Ryken Center for the Arts
Ryken Center for the Arts is home to our music, theater, and arts programs. On the first level are the DiVincenzo Blackbox Theatre, Studzinski Gallery and a theatre workshop. The second floor is dedicated to music, while the third floor provides art and ceramics studio space. Built in 1916, Ryken was redesigned as an art center in 1995.
Brother Benjamin Hall
One of two main classroom buildings on campus, Brother Banjamin, CFX Hall was built in 1964 and extensively remodeled when the A. E. Studzinski Library was constructed in 2003. It houses the main school office, as well as classrooms and science labs, faculty offices for the English, Social Studies, and Science departments, the Principal’s office, the Admission office, the bookstore, and the School Counseling office.
Alumni Hall houses Kaneb Theatre, our 350-seat school auditorium, which is home to the Prep's award-winning Drama Guild. It also provides space for concerts and visiting speakers, as well as student, faculty and parents gatherings.
Memorial Dining Hall
Memorial Dining Hall, with its dramatic gothic style, leaded glass windows and vaulted ceilings, adds much to the "college campus" feeling at St. John's. Built in 1925, it was recently updated and houses two student dining rooms, where breakfast and lunch are served daily.
A. E. Studzinski Library
Opened in September 2003, the A. E. Studzinski Library houses an 18,000 volume collection, sophisticated computer resources, and six state-of-the-art technology classrooms. The spacious 24,000 square foot library provides students with space for individual study and collaborative work, as well as access to unlimited online academic resources. It is open from 7 am to 5:30 pm every day.
Memorial Gymnasium is home base for the Prep's 20 athletic teams and the intramurals program. The Prep's meticulously maintained athletic facilities also include Cronin Memorial Stadium, Gibbons Memorial Field, three additional playing fields, and five tennis courts.